Amsterdam – Exploring Good Tea & Food.

I know it’s only my fourth day in Amsterdam, but it is just the beginning of a long journey of exploring the coolest places to eat and drink in the city, from my perspective anyway. I have already had a delicious soy chai latte from Sane Salad Bar on the Haarlemmersdijk, but I must tell you about two more great places. As I blog more about my journey in Holland, I will post the links to these places so that if any of you are her, you can visit and see for yourself that they were wonderful.

One important thing to note is that I only go back to places where there was great service. If the people behind the counter are not nice to me, it’s an instant turn-off for me.

There are a few things I look for in cafes because I am one of those customers who is a little bit difficult to help. Not because I’m annoying or picky (well, at least I hope not), but because I am intolerant to dairy, gluten, and wheat. Yes, that’s right. That means I can’t have pasta, bread, milk, cheese, yoghurt, crackers, or anything like that. But I’ve learned to adapt to it and I really do love finding things that are vegan, gluten-free, and dairy-free, because believe it or not, they are delicious (most of the time).

Oh, and besides also being a little less intolerant to capsicum, I’m slightly intolerant to tomatoes, potatoes, onion, and white sugar. So that seems like quite a restrictive way to eat, but I feel great and know that my body is healthy, and that’s most important.

So today, on my fourth and gorgeous sunny day, I walked a little bit further for lunch, and had an afternoon snack only 2 minutes walk from where I live.

The first place was Vinnie’s Deli, an organic cafe on the Haarlemmerstraat. As soon as I see ‘organic’, I’m like yay! The chances of something having no gluten or dairy is greater, and I happily give it a go. I had a delicious chickpea curry, and fruit & vegetable smoothie, and it tasted all the better because the two guys who served me and my friend were really friendly. I really should make it a habit to photograph the people!

2014-03-10_0011 2014-03-10_0008 2014-03-10_0009

I walked a little bit through a small part of the Red Light District and saw this little sign, which (I think) means “God is my castle”. It kind of broke my heart that in the middle of such a dark place, this sign is engraved in the wall. But I guess it also gave me a little bit of hope.

2014-03-10_0010 2014-03-10_0006 2014-03-10_0013 2014-03-10_0012

Afterwards I took Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice with me and I relaxed at CiTea on the Prinsengracht, a lovely little place that serves delicious tea and amazing looking cakes and other delicacies, of which I tried a vegan rhubarb cake. Gahhhh. The service was lovely and it was a nice quiet place where I could breathe a little and read my book. Plus, I bought the cutest little tea filter to feed my addiction. I will definitely be visiting that spot again. Such a nice beginning to life in Amsterdam.

2014-03-10_0007 2014-03-10_0003 2014-03-10_0002 2014-03-10_0005 2014-03-10_0001 2014-03-10_0004

Follow Tranquility Photography on Facebook to see more of my images and experiences! x

3 thoughts on “Amsterdam – Exploring Good Tea & Food.

  1. Pingback: Amsterdam – Exploring Good Tea & Food | Holland Traveler .Me

Leave a Reply

